Article Index


Peter Temple had a successful career as a journalist, editor, and academic before turning to writing. His crime fiction novels transcend the genre and have made him one of Australia's most popular and successful authors of the past two decades. He has won many literary prizes, including the prestigious international crime writing prize the Duncan Lawrie Dagger award for The Broken Shore, and the 2010 Miles Franklin award for Truth.

Library resources

On our shelves:

Jack Irish series:

The Broken shore series

  • The Broken shore (Winner of the U.K. Duncan Lawrie Dagger for the best crime novel 2007)
  • Truth  (Winner of the Miles Franklin Award 2010)

Standalone novels

His short story Kingdom Come can be found in The Best Australian Stories 2003, edited by Peter Craven.

Peter Temple also supplied the introduction, A novel of menace, for the 2009 reissue of the Australian classic:




  • McKinty, Adrian, 2019, 'Never too much: Peter Temple knew the skeleton was only the start of the story', The Weekend Australian Review, pp.20-21.



The Broken shore:



Web Resources

 Television adaptations: