Introduction

In the preface to the book Art and Photography, David Campany writes, Photography in art is ... diverse. It is made by many practioners with a range of artistic identities: 'art photographers', 'artists', 'photographic artists', 'artists using photography' and 'photographers'.

Hieferman, M.2012, Photography changes everything, Aperture Foundation with the Smithsonian Institution, New York.

Library Resources

If you are a TCE Photography student, before you commence your research please visit the following link for information on referencing requirements at this level.

In a highly visual subject such as photography you are often looking for that "something" that will give you an idea or set you off on your own path of discovery. While not the most efficient way for carrying-out research, under many circumstances browsing the shelves may bring you the results that you want. The following Dewey Numbers will help if this is the case.

Dewey Number

  • Photography - 770
  • History of photography - 770.9
  • Photographers 770.92
  • Australian photographers - 770.920994
  • Techniques - Tips on how to take better photographs - 771
  • Digital photography - 775
  • Photography of specific subjects (e.g. animals, architecture, children_ - 778.9

Keyword Searching

The Library catalogue is a powerful searching tool. Use a basic keyword search to get quickly to the resources you will find on the shelves. Enter the name of the photographer or style of photograph you are looking for. For example:

You can search for individual photographers by either:

  • Searching by surname, followed by the christian name or intial(s) in the subject, e.g. Moffatt, Tracey
  • Entering the artists exact name into a keyword search, e.g. Diane Arbus

Subject Headings

The following subjects will also help locate more material on the Library's shelves.


Collection highlights

These are only some of the books you can use for your research.

History and cultural aspects of photography

Contemporary photography

 


Reference resources

Don't forget to log in to the Library's Britannica Online. Many of the images in this database may be used for your research and you will not have to worry about infringing copyright if you use them in your assignments. Britannica Online also constructs the Harvard citation for each image you use, which must be included in your reference list.

Online dictionary for Australian art & design:

  • Design and Art Australia Online (DAAO). Design and Art Australia Online (DAAO) is a collaborative e-Research tool built upon the foundations of the Dictionary of Australian Artists Online. DAAO is an open source freely accessible scholarly e-Research tool that presents biographical data about Australian artists, designers, craftspeople and curators.
  • Digital Dictionary: a glossary of photographic terms. 'This Digital Dictionary is on hand for whenever you come accross a photographic term you don't understand. Refer to it often and you will quickly master the "language" of digital photography, particularly useful when reading magazines or learning editing programs.

AV Streaming

Techniques
Styles

Online video resources


Web Resources

Tips & Techniques

Websites - History of Photography


Websites - International

The Aperture Foundation. Aperture, is a not-for-profit foundation, that connects the photo community and its audiences with the most inspiring work, the sharpest ideas, and with each other—in print, in person, and online.

The International Centre for Photography. The International Center of Photography (ICP) is the world’s leading institution dedicated to the practice and understanding of photography and the reproduced image in all its forms

Magnum Foundation. Magnum Photos is a photographic cooperative of great diversity and distinction owned by its photographer members. With powerful individual vision, Magnum photographers chronicle the world and interpret its peoples, events, issues and personalities.

Wildlife Photographer of the Year. The National History Museum and the BBC co-sponsor the Wildlife Photographer of the Year. The competition provides a global showcase of the very best nature photography.

World Press Photo. "We exist to inspire understanding of the world through quality photojournalism."

 


Websites - Australian


Individual Australian Photographers

The Library has many more books on Australian photography and photographers. Follow the advice at the beginning of this pathfinder on how to locate this material on the Library shelves.

Robert Billington (1954- )

Library resources: Robert Billington

Web resources: Robert Billington's website

Harold Cazneaux (1878-1953)

Library resources: Harold Cazneaux

Web resources: Australian Government's Australian stories: Harold Cazneaux

Olive Cotton (1911-2003)

Library resources: Olive Cotton

Web resources: Australian Government's Australian stories: Olive Cotton

Max Dupain (1911-1992)

Library resources: Max Dupain

Web resources: Australian Government's Australian stories: Max Dupain

Sue Ford (1943-2009)

Library resources: Sue Ford

Web resources: ABC Art Nation: Sue Ford (7:02 min.) posted 2011.

Bill Henson (1955- )

Library resources: Bill Henson

Web resources: Profile and list of works from the Roslyn Oxley9 Gallery: Bill Henson

Frank Hurley (1885-1962)

Library resources: Frank Hurley

Web resources: Australian Government's Australian stories: Frank Hurley

Rosemary Laing (1959- )

Library resources: Rosemary Laing

Web resource: Rosemary Laing at the Art Gallery of N.S.W.

Web resource: The Unquiet landscape of Rosemary Laing: Education Resource Kit - University of Queensland

Tracey Moffatt (1960- )

Library resources: Tracey Moffat

Web resources: Profile and list of works from the Roslyn Oxley9 Gallery: Tracey Moffatt 'World of Dreamings': The Memory Theatre of Tracey Moffatt from the National Gallery of Australia

Tracey Moffatt was the Australian representative at the 57th Venice Biennale, 2017.  The exhibition, My Horizon, was curated by Natalie King, Roslyn Oxley9 Gallery.

David Moore (1927-2003)

Library resources: David Moore

Web resources: David Moore Photography


International Photographers

The Library has many more books on International photography and photographers. Follow the advice at the beginning of this pathfinder on how to locate this material on the Library shelves.

Ansel Adams (1902-1984)

Library resources: Ansel Adams

Web resources: The Ansel Adams Gallery

Diane Arbus ( 1923-1971)

Library resources: Diane Arbus

Web resources: Diane Arbus: Biography & photo library from AtGet Photography

Roger Ballen (1950- )

Library resources: Roger Ballen

Web resources: Roger Ballen Photography

Henri Cartier-Bresson (1908-2004)

Library resources: Henri Cartier-Bresson

Web resources: Foundation Henri Cartier-Bresson

Imogen Cunningham (1883-1976)

Library resources: Imogen Cunningham

Web resources: Imogen Cunningham Trust

Andre Kertesz (1894-1985)

Library resources: Andre Kertesz

Web resources: Andre Kertesz: Biography & photolibrary from AtGet Photography

Dorothea Lange (1895-1965)

Library resources: Dorothea Lange

Web resources: The J. Paul Getty Museum: Dorothea Lange's documentary photographs. Includes a 4:31 YouTube clip

Annie Leibovitz (1949- )

Library resources: Annie Leibovitz

Web resources: Annie Leibovitz on artnet

Man Ray (1890-1976)

Library resources: Man Ray

Wall, Jeff (1946- )

Library resources: Jeff Wall

Web resources: MoMA - Jeff Wall: In his own words

Edward Weston (1886-1958)

Library resources: Edward Weston

Web resources: Edward Weston website