Introduction

Theatre is the presentation of human behaviours, psychology and culture through the intersection of text, bodies, time and space.  Theatre performance develops and enhances a learner's analytical, evaluative and critical thinking and problem-solving skills. Through study and practice in theatrical analysis and research, play script interpretation and engagement in theatrical production processes, learners develop their acting, aesthetic, interpretive and communication skills, and their understanding of culture and society. Learners develop and apply stagecraft knowledge, acting methodologies, and skills.  They will also develop an understanding of themselves as theatre practitioners, and an appreciation of theatre, the craft of acting and its significance as an art form.

 'Theatre performance' 2014, Tasmanian Qualifications Authority, retrieved 20 February 2017, http://www.tasc.tas.gov.au/4DCGI/_WWW_doc/238763/RND01/SDP315115.pdf

Referencing advice: The TASC and your teachers at St Patrick's College expect you to present your work with citations and a reference list in the Harvard (author/date) format. Go to the Library's Referencing Guidelines for extended help in this area. The Library staff are always happy to help you with any queries you may have in regard to referencing requirements for any research you are undertaking.

 

Independent studies (IPs): When undertaking any independent study, research or book review you must allow yourself enough time to search for and locate the material you need. To help you a booking sheet is kept at the Library desk where you may book an individual time with one of the Library staff when commencing any research in this area.

Faculty resources: All material purchased by teachers in the visual arts is also available for student use if it is not required by teachers. Many of these resources are inter-shelved with the Library material and may be found by using the Library catalogue.


Library resources

On our shelves:

Keyword searching on the Library catalogue:

Enter the terms for the aspect of theatre, performance or stagecraft you are looking for.

Plays and scripts:

You can search for individual playwrights and plays in the catalogue.

 


Faculty resources

The Speech & Drama Faculty has many resources - textbooks, plays, scripts, etc. readily available to you from within the arts area.  For example:

Keyword searching on the Library catalogue.

Enter the terms for the aspect of theatre, performance or stagecraft you are looking for.

Your teachers can help you locate the individual plays and scripts held by the Faculty.


Collection highlights

 


eReserve

The Library has digitised excerpts from various sources for Speech + Drama students to use for recital performances or practice. On these pages you will find links to eReserve digital copies of play, script & monologue, prose and poetry excerpts for use in Speech + Drama. This selection includes works from Australia, the UK, the USA and Canada, and the rest of the world.

Click on the title of the work to view file.

Bibliographic details for reference purposes can be accessed via the catalogue link beside each title. Go to: http://library.stpatricks.tas.edu.au/index.php/pathfinders/speech-drama

 


Reference material

Reference material can include dictionaries, encyclopedia, yearbooks and almanacs. Reference material can be a way to determine basic information about a new or unfamiliar topic.

General reference

On our shelves:

  • Encyclopaedia Britannica
  • The World Book

Subject reference titles:

Online encyclopedia:

You can also use Britannica Online via the database menu on the Library website. You will need your user name and password to log on.


Web resources

General:

  • Student Technical Theatre Handbook - Harvard University.  Includes links to information on Design / Load in and Strikes / People / Performance spaces / Stage management / Technical direction

Costumes

Lighting

 Additional resources:

Australian theatres

United Kingdom theatres