This subject guide will help you to locate the resources you will find particularly useful when commencing your studies in this area. Here is the best place to find books, information about databases and a guide to appropriate websites.

Referencing advice: TASC and your teachers at St Patrick's College expect you to present your work using the traditional note (or Oxford) referencing system. When you cite information you use numbers in attached to your citations that relate to a corresponding number at the bottom of the page (footnotes) or at the end of the work (end-notes). You will also create a bibliography that will refer to all the works that appear in your end-notes or footnotes, plus any additional reading you have used while researching your topic. For further information go to the Library's Referencing Guidelines for extended help in this area. The Library staff are always happy to help you with any queries you may have in regard to referencing requirements for any research you are undertaking.

Independent studies (IPs): When undertaking any independent study, research or book review you must allow yourself enough time to search for and locate the material you need. To help you a booking sheet is kept at the Library desk where you may book an individual time with one of the Library staff when commencing any research for either English Literature or English Studies.

Faculty resources: All material purchased for the teachers in the English Faculty is also available for student use if it is not required by the teachers. The resources are kept in the Library and can be found by using the Library catalogue.

In English Writing the Dewey Numbers that will help you locate information on our shelves are:

  • 428 English language, English usage and written communication
  • 811 American poetry
  • 812 American drama
  • 813 American prose/fiction
  • 821 English poetry (Individual poets)
  • 821.08 English poetry collections
  • 822 English drama
  • A821 Australian poetry
  • A822 Australian drama
  • A823 Australian prose/fiction
  • Languages other than English are after 830, e.g. German literature is located in 830, French literature in 840.


Study Guides and Notes

Study notes, such as Cliffs Notes and other literature guides can be an important way to gather information about a text you are studying. They are entered onto the library catalogue and may be located by searching by series, title or author.

The English Faculty and the library purchase titles in these series. They are shelved on the main floor of the library. They are not arranged in the normal Dewey order, rather, they are shelved by author followed by title. Ask for help at the desk if you are not sure how to locate material you are looking for. Selected Study Notes are held on Reserve at the Circulation desk.

We can also arrange to purchase titles that are not in stock. You will need to allow us enough time to locate and purchase them.

Reference resources include encyclopedia, dictionaries, yearbooks and almanacs. Reference material can be a way to determine basic information about a new or unfamiliar topic.

General Encyclopedia

  • 030 WOR World Book Encyclopedia
  • 030 NEW Encyclopedia Britannica
  • Britannica Online - Access via the link

Subject Encyclopedia

  • 919.403The Australian Encyclopedia
  • 823.809283 MAJ Major Authors & Illustrators for Children and Young Adults (6 volumes)

The library also has many individual reference titles including a range of titles in the Oxford Companion series.

First a word of warning … be careful what you download and use from the Internet.

Before printing-out multiple pages from a web address ensure you are looking at a publication from a legitimate source.
Material from the Internet often does not acknowledge the author or creator, does not cite references or footnotes, or include any type of bibliography or reference list. Use this type of material with caution. As part of your research process you need to sort out the reliable sources from the less trustworthy sites.

If in doubt always check with your teacher.

Creative Writing

The Art of Writing by Robert Louis Stevenson

BBC GCSE – Bitesize English Literature (from the schools section of the BBC)

Blast – Writing

The Wheeler Centre is a dedicated to the discussion of practice of writing and ideas