Introduction

This subject guide will help you to locate the resources you will find particularly useful when commencing your studies in this area. Here is the best place to find books, information about databases and a guide to appropriate websites.

Referencing advice: The TASC and your teachers at St Patrick's College expect you to present all your work with citations and a reference list in the APA (author/date) format. Go to the Library's Referencing Guidelines for extended help in this area. The Library staff are always happy to help you with any queries you may have in regard to referencing requirements for any research you are undertaking.

Independent studies (IPs): When undertaking any independent study, research or book reviews you must allow yourself enough time to search for and locate the material you need. To help you a booking sheet is kept at the Library desk where you may book an individual time with one of the Library staff when commencing any research for Health Studies.

Faculty resources: All material purchased for the teachers of Health & PE Faculty is also available for student use if it is not required by the teachers. The resources are kept in the Library and can be found by using the Library catalogue.


Library resources

Dewey Numbers

In Sports Science the Dewey Numbers that will help you locate information on our shelves are:

  • 152.3 = Sport psychology
  • 613.7 = Physical fitness (includes exercise)
  • 796 = Athletic and outdoor sports and games
  • 796.077 = Coaching

Keyword searching


Enter a word of phrase into a keyword search on the Library catalogue. For example:

eBooks

Issues in Society


Reference Resources

On our shelves:

General Encyclopedia

  • World Book Encyclopedia
  • Encyclopedia Britannica

Subject Encyclopedia

  • 610.3 Encyclopedia of Health
  • 616.003 Diseases
  • 613.03 The Marshall Cavendish Encyclopedia of Family Health

Online encyclopaedia

 


Databases

This is where you will need to go to obtain up-to-date information from journals, magazines and newspapers in the area of Sports Science. You will need to log onto the Database section of this website.

 


Web resources

First a word of warning ... be careful what you download and use from the Internet. Become astute researchers and before you printing-out multiple pages from a web address make sure you are looking at a legitimate source. Material from the Internet may not acknowledge the author or creator, cite references or footnotes, or include any type of reference list or bibliography. Use this type of material with caution. As part of your research process you need to be able to recognise reliable resources and those that are coming from a less trustworthy site.

For further information read the Library Fact Sheet Evaluating Information from the Web.

Online Statistics

Australian Bureau of Statistics

Ethical research

The TASC advice for Module 4 'Scientific Investigative Methodologies and Skills' includes that student must take full account of .relevant principles and guidelines related to ethical conduct in human research'. They direct students to the following resources:

Other web resources:

Association for Applied Sport Psychology [U.S. organisation]

Athletics Australia

Australian Institute of Sport

Australian Sports Commission

Australian Sports Drug Agency.

ESSA. Exercise and Sports Science Australia.

Nutrition Australia

Sports Medicine Australia

Tasmanian Institute of Sport