Article Index

Introduction

The purpose of science education is to develop scientific literacy, which is a high priority for all citizens, helping them:

  • to be interested in, and understand the world around them;
  • to engage in discourse about science;
  • to understand the testable and contestable nature of science, and question the claims made by others about scientific matters;
  • to be able to identify questions and draw evidence-based conclusions;
  • and to make informed decisions about the environment, about their own health and well-being and about the role and impact of science on society.

In studying Environmental Science and Society, students develop their investigative, analytical and communications skills, and apply these to their understanding of environmental issues in order to engage in public debate, solve problems and make evidence-based decisions about contemporary environmental issues in society.

Environmental Science and society, TQA Level 3, 26 February 2015

This subject guide will help you to locate the resources you will find particularly useful when commencing your studies in this area. Here is the best place to find books, information about databases and a guide to appropriate websites.

Referencing advice: For further information go to the Library's Referencing Guidelines for extended help in this area. The Library staff are always happy to help you with any queries you may have in regard to referencing requirements for any research you are undertaking.

Tasmanian Assessment, Standards and Certification (TASC) Academic Integrity Requirements: TASC advises that all material submitted for external assessment requires students to sign an Academic Integrity Declaration Form. This form shows the folio is your own work, except where the work of others (other people's information, images, ideas, or words) are acknowledged and the source is clearly shown (by referencing/citation).

In 2016 prior to submitting work you will be prompted in Schoolbox to tick a box indicating you understand your responsibilities in this area.

To ensure you understand this process Senior Students are advised that this same advice also applies to work submitted internally to your teachers.

Independent studies (IPs): When undertaking any independent study, research or book review you must allow yourself enough time to search for and locate the material you need. To help you a booking sheet is kept at the Library desk where you may book an individual time with one of the Library staff when commencing any research for either Chemistry.

Faculty resources: All material purchased for the teachers in the Science Faculty is also available for student use if it is not required by the teachers. The resources are kept in the Library and can be found by using the Library catalogue.


Library resources

The Library catalogue is a powerful searching tool that can quickly locate material in our collections.

Dewey Numbers

The following Dewy Number will locate material on our shelves:

  • 333.7 Conservation of natural resources
  • 363.7 Environmental science
  • 577 + Biometric systems and ecosystems

Keyword searching

Enter a word or phrase into a basic keyword search. Some suggestions, with results could include:

Subject searching:


Collection highlights

eBooks

Issues in Society

 


Reference resources

On the shelf:

Online reference

Remember you will need your User Name & Password to log onto: Britannica Online

 


Image library

The CSIRO Science Image Library has an extensive selection of images you can use in your assignments. They are available to download and copy under a Creative Commons licence. You must acknowledge and provide a citation to the CSIRO when you use any of these images.

 


eReserve


Databases

The following databases will help you in your research, particularly with up-to-date material. You will need your User Name & Password to log on.

EbscoHOST - A high level database of journals and peer-reviewed entries

eLibrary

This database contain magazine and journal articles on the latest developments in many areas associated with biology. Also remember to look at the Life Sciences (Biology) section under "Topics".

Science Online

This database presents a broad range of scientific disciplines through extensive essays, videos, diagrams, definitions, biographies, and experiments.


Library subject guides

The following Library guides may also help your research in this area:

For reliable statistic on many aspects of Australia use the: Australian Bureau of Statistics


Web resources