This subject guide will help you to locate the resources you will find particularly useful when commencing your studies in this area. Here is the best place to find books, information about databases and a guide to appropriate websites.

Referencing advice: For further information go to the Library's Referencing Guidelines for extended help in this area. The Library staff are always happy to help you with any queries you may have in regard to referencing requirements for any research you are undertaking.

Tasmanian Assessment, Standards and Certification (TASC) Academic Integrity Requirements: TASC advises that all material submitted for external assessment requires students to sign an Academic Integrity Declaration Form. This form shows the folio is your own work, except where the work of others (other people's information, images, ideas, or words) are acknowleged and the source is clearly shown (by referencing/citation).

In 2016 prior to submitting work you will be prompted in Schoolbox to tick a box indicating you understand your responsibilities in this area.

To ensure you understand this process Senior Students are advised that this same advice also applies to work submitted internally to your teachers.

Independent studies (IPs): When undertaking any independent study, research or book review you must allow yourself enough time to search for and locate the material you need. To help you a booking sheet is kept at the Library desk where you may book an individual time with one of the Library staff when commencing any research for either Life Science.

Faculty resources: All material purchased for the teachers in the Science Faculty is also available for student use if it is not required by the teachers. The resources are kept in the Library and can be found by using the Library catalogue.

Library Resources:

In Life Science the Dewey Numbers that will help you locate information on our shelves. There are more resources available in this area. This list just indicates where the majority of books are located in the Library.


Dewey Number

Keyword Searching

Subject Headings


  • Life sciences 570
  • Life sciences

Ecosystems and Biodiversity

  • Natural resources - Conservation and protection 333.72
  • Ecology 577
  • Biological diversity
  • Bioshphere
  • Ecology
  • Habitats
  • Overpopulation
  • Plant reproduction
  • Life cycles

Cell Structure and Function

  • Cell biology 571.6
  • Genetics 576
  • Cell biology
  • Cell processes
  • Cellular respiration
  • Cytology
  • Cell Division
  • Photosynthesis
  • Osmosis


  • Evolution 576.8
  • Biotechnology 660.6
  • Reproduction 612.6
  • Biotechnology
  • Mitosis
  • Meiosis


Reference resources

Reference resources include encyclopedia, dictionaries, yearbooks and almanacs. Reference material can be a way to determine basic information about a new or unfamiliar topic.

On our shelves:

General Encyclopedia

  • Encyclopedia Britannica
  • World Book Encyclopedia

Subject Encyclopedia

  • Encyclopedia of Life Science
  • Exploring Life Science
  • Endangered Wildlife of the World
  • Encyclopedia of Technology and Applied Science
  • The World of Science



Image library

The CSIRO Science Image Library has an extensive selection of images you can use in your assignments. They are available to download and copy under a Creative Commons licence. You must acknowledge and provide a citation to the CSIRO when you use any of these images.


Science Online

This database presents a broad range of scientific disciplines through extensive essays, videos, diagrams, definitions, biographies, and experiments.


Audio Visual Resources


Web Resources:

First a word of warning … be careful what you download and use from the Internet. Pick-up a copy of the Library's Evaluating Information from the Web to help you vet the sites you are looking at.


Topics in the Life Sciences:

These are broken down into core topics, followed by a variety of themes/


Cell Biology

Nature Education: Cell biology

Ecosystems and Biodiversity

Human Science theme:

Human Evolution

Human Genetics


Agricultural theme


Plant production

Animal production

Impacts of production on natural ecosystems


Environmental theme

Population dynamics

  • United Nations - Economic and Social Commission for Asia and the Pacific (ESCAP): Population dynamics

Human activities (Australian context)


Biochemistry - The chemical basis of life

The Nature of Matter

Cellular processes

Chemical reactions for life


Marine studies

Materials Input/Output

Multicellular organisms

Ecosystem dynamics