Article Index

Introduction

This subject guide will help you to locate the resources you will find particularly useful when commencing your studies in this area. Here is the best place to find books, information about databases and a guide to appropriate websites.

Referencing advice: TASC and your teachers at St Patrick's College expect you to present all you work with citations and a reference list in the Harvard (author/date) format. Go to the Library's Referencing Guidelines for extended help in this area. The Library staff are always happy to help you with any queries you may have in regard to referencing requirements for any research you are undertaking.

You should submit all work ... internal, as well as external, with an Academic Integrity Declaration form.

Independent studies (IPs): When undertaking any independent study, research or book reviews you must allow yourself enough time to search for and locate the material you need. To help you a booking sheet is kept at the Library desk where you may book an individual time with one of the Library staff when commencing any research for SOSE.

Faculty resources: All material purchased for the teachers of SOSE Faculty is also available for student use if it is not required by the teachers. The resources are kept in the Library and can be found by using the Library catalogue.

 


Dewey numbers

  • 330 = Economics
  • 330.1 System, schools & theories
  • 330.994 = Economics - Australia
  • 331 Labour economics
  • 332.4994 = Monetary Policy - Australia
  • 333 Environmental economics
  • 339.4 Income

Keyword Searching

  • Australian Economics
  • Economists
  • Free Trade
  • Inflation (Finance)
  • Microeconomics
  • Macroeconomics
  • Monetary policy -- Australia

Subject Heading

 


 

Reference Resources

Reference resources include encyclopedia, dictionaries, yearbooks and almanacs. Reference material can be a way to determine basic information about a new or unfamiliar topic.

General Encyclopedia

  • Encyclopedia Britannica
  • World Book Encyclopedia

Online Encyclopedia
Don't forget you will need your user name and password to use these resources.

 


Library Subject Guides

These are in-depth guides created, often created at the request of your teachers and can be found on the Library website. They highlight important topic areas.


 

Databases

You will find a range of useful databases on the Homework help website. They include full-text journals and magazine articles, and a range of newspapers. For up-to-date information in any area of Economics you will need to access the material you will find in this area. Remember you will need your User Name and Password to log into this section of our website.


Audio Visual Resources

AV Streaming


First a word of warning ... be careful what you download and use from the Internet. Become astute researchers and before you printing-out multiple pages from a web address make sure you are looking at a legitimate source. Material from the Internet may not acknowledge the author or creator, cite references or footnotes, or include any type of reference list or bibliography. Use this type of material with caution. As part of your research process you need to be able to recognise reliable resources and those that are coming from a less trustworthy site.

For further information read the Library Fact Sheet Evaluating Information from the Web.

Online Reference

General Information

Australian