This subject guide will help you locate the resources you will find particularly useful when commencing your studies in this area. Here is the best place to find books, information about databases and a guide to appropriate websites.
Referencing advice: The TASC and your teachers at St Patrick's College expect you to present your work with citations and a reference list in the APA format. This citation style was created by the American Psychological Association. Go to the Library's APA Referencing guide for basic information on this referencing style. The Library staff are always happy to help you with any queries you may have in regard to referencing requirements for any research you are undertaking.
Independent studies (IPs): When undertaking any independent study, research or book review you must allow yourself enough time to search for and locate the material you will need. To help you a booking sheet is kept at the Library desk where you may book an individual time with one of the Library staff when commencing any research for Psychology.
Faculty Resources: All material purchased for the teachers of psychology is also available for student use if it is not required by the teachers. The resources are kept in the Library and can be found using the Library catalogue.
The Library catalogue is a powerful searching tool. Use a basic keyword search to get you quickly to the resources you will find on our shelves.
The following Dewey Numbers can also help to find material on our shelves.
152 - 158 Specific topics in psychology
152 Sensory perception
152.3 Movements and motor functions
155 Developmental psychology
155.4 Child psychology, includes the psychology of people twelve to twenty
158 Applied psychology
171 Ethiclal systems
On our shelves:
The World Book
There are a number of psychology reference books in the Library. For example:
- Encyclopedia of sleep and dreaming (1 volume)
- Encyclopedia of learning and memory (1 volume)
- Psychology ( 6 volumes)
- The Marshall Cavendish encyclopedia of personal relationships (20 volumes)
You can also access Britannica online via the database on the Library website. You will need your user name and password to log on.
You will find a range of useful databases on the Library website. They include full-text journals and magazines, and a range of newspapers. For up-to-date information and research in the area of Psychology you will need to access the material you find. in this area. You will need your user name and password to log onto:
- Proquest eLibrary
- Science Online
The Library has a wide range of AV material on DVD and as digital movies that can be located by searching the Library catalogue. Please find below a list of suggested resources, ask in the AV office for extended help.
- Redesign my brain [Digital movie]
- Test your brain [Digital movie]
- Into the mind [Digital movie]
- The Brain than changes itself [Digital movie]
- Secret life of your bodyclock [Digital movie] and DVD SP 200
- Finding my mind [Digital movie]
- 7 Up Series - DVD and [Digital movie]
- Dead tired [Digital movie]
- Do you see what I see? [Digital movie]
First a word of warning ... be careful what you download and use from the internet. Become astute researchers and before printing-out multiple pages from a web address make sure you are looking at a legitimate source. Material from the Internet may not acknowledge the author or creator, cite references or footnotes, or include any type of reference list or bibliography. Use this type of material with caution. As part of your research process you need to be able to recognise reliable resources and those that are coming from less trustworthy sites.
For further information read the Library Fact Sheet Evaluating Information from the Web.
General sites of interest:
ABC Health and Wellbeing: Mental health - Healthy living mind & body
BBC Science: Human body and mind - Psychology tests and surveys
Psychology Topics [from] American Psychology Association
PsychWeb: This Web site contains lots of psychology-related information for students and teachers of psychology.
- Famous psychologists - List compiled by NorQuest College Library
Module 1: Research and Inquiry
- Five principles for research ethics - American Psychological Association
- Research Methods in Psychology - University of Minnesota: Open Textbooks
Module 2: Individual differences
Part A - Gender
- Gender development research in sex roles: historical trends and future directions / Zosuls, Miller, Ruble, Martin & Fabes, PubMed Central
- Gender roles and gender differences - Child Psychology: a contemporary viewpoint / Hetherington & Parke, 5th edition. McGraw-Hill Global Education Holdings
- Social Learning Theory - Psychology Today
Part B - Intelligence
- Defining and measuring intelligence - Introduction to Psychology, Chapter 9, University of Minnesota: Open Textbooks
- Intelligence - Assessment Psychology Online
Part C - Personality
- The Myers & Briggs Foundation
- Personality - American Psychological Association
- Personality - Psychology Today
Module 3: Psychobiological process
Part A: Visual perception
- Action and visual perception / Witt, American Psychological Association
- A Century of Gestalt Psychology in visual perception II: conceptual and theoretical foundations / Wagemans, et al, PubMed Central
Part B: Consciousness
- States of consciousness - Introduction to psychology - BC Open Textbooks, 1st Canadian edition
- States of consciousness - OUP
Module 4: Human learning
- Learning - Introduction to psychology - BC Open Textbooks, 1st Canadian edition
- The Social Cognitive Theory - Boston University - School of Public Health
- What is classical conditioning? (And why does it matter?) - Scientific American
Module 5: Remembering
- Meaning and causes of forgetting - Psychestudy
- Memory and recall - University of Berkeley: Centre for Teaching and Learning