Social Justice and Injustice in Australia

Page 1 of 1

Social Justice and Injustice in Australia

Supporting the fair treatment of all people regardless of gender, race, colour, ethnicity, age, marital or parental status, sexual preference, disability or religious belief.

Government of Western Australia Social Justice Statement, 2021.

The words or at least concepts of ‘social justice’ are used in contexts where people understand social justice to be about fairness beyond individual justice. According to Craig et al, “it is often seen these days as either a relic of the 1970s, or a catch-all used by conservatives and progressives alike”. Baldry argues that “we should all be clamouring for the revival of social justice, that is, ensuring systemic and structural social arrangements to improve equality, as a core political and social value”.

To put it simply, the concept of social justice involves finding the optimum balance between our joint responsibilities as a society and our responsibilities as individuals to contribute to a just society. Many different ideas exist about where that optimum balance lies.

Pro Bono Centre, 2015.

Library Resources
AV Resources
Web Resources

Library Resources

Use the Library catalogue to quickly locate the books on our shelves related to social justice and injustice issues.

On the shelves

Collection highlights

Serials

  • Justice Trends (ask the Library staff for back issues) - a serial publication about the trends in Social Justice in Australia from the Catholic Church.

eBooks

Issues in Society

AV Resources

ClickView

BTN: Behind the News from the ABC is a fun, accessible way for upper primary and secondary students to learn about what's happening in the world around them (ABC, 2021).

Keyword search

ABC

Web Resources

General

Social justice organisations


Examples of Social Justice Issues

Poverty
Bullying
Indig. Incarceration
Indig. Education
Indigenous Health
Refugees
Gender Inequality
Health Services
Climate Change
Environ. Injustice

Poverty

Library resources

Keyword search

Issues in Society

Web resources

Bullying

Bullying, harassment and cyberbullying.

Library resources

Keyword search

Issues in Society

Web resources

Indig. Incarceration

Indigenous incarceration and deaths in custody. 

Library resources

Keyword search

Issues in Society

Web resources

Indig. Education

Indigenous education challenges.

Library resources

Keyword search

Issues in Society

Web resources

Indigenous Health

Indigenous health and healthcare challenges.

Library resources

Keyword search

Collection highlight

Issues in Society

Web resources

Refugees

Refugees and asylum seekers.

Library resources

Keyword search

Subject search

Collection highlights

Victorian Premier's Award Winner 2019

eBooks

Issues in Society

Reference Resources

General Encyclopedia

  • World Book Encyclopedia

Web resources

Health Services

Universal access to health services.

Library resources

Keyword search

eBooks

From Issues in Society: [Hard copies of these title may also be found on the Library shelves]

Australian health

Global health

Personal health

Web resources

Climate Change

Library resources

Keyword search

eBooks

Issues in Society

Britannica eStax

Reference Resources

General Encyclopedia

  • World Book Encyclopedia

Web resources

Environ. Injustice

Environmental injustices and issues.

Library resources

Keyword search

Subject search

Collection highlights

eBooks

Issues in Society

Reference resources

On the shelf

Web resources