Cultural Dispossession - Year 11 GNFL/Project Implementation (TASC Level 2)

Page 1 of 6

Cultural Dispossession - Year 11 GNFL/Project Implementation (TASC Level 2)

Project Implementation provides opportunities for learners to delve deeply into a topic while acquiring transferable skills and capabilities required into the future.

Project Implementation provides meaningful engagement in rich learning tasks that enhance opportunities to collaborate rather than just cooperate. Students learn how to effectively manage or lead a project – a key to deeper engagement, self-motivated learning, more productive collaboration, team work, and more compelling communication. Developing a project management mindset will promote the skill of assessing the worth of a piece of work before undertaking the work and if they proceed, how to do this in the most effective and efficient manner. It can also assist in working towards a more creative and successful future.

TASC. Project Implementation. Level 2, PRJ205118, 2022.

Course information for TASC Project Implementation level 2 can be found here.

The purpose of this assessment is to explore the social and political impact of colonisation on Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander spiritualities.

CULTURAL WARNING FOR ABORIGINAL AND TORRES STRAIT ISLANDER READERS: The links contained on this page may contain images, video and audio recordings of individuals who are deceased.

Library Resources
AV Resources

Library Resources

The Library catalogue is a powerful searching tool that allows you to quickly locate material in our collections.

Dewey numbers

  • 299.92 - Religions of other ethnic origin
  • 305.89915 - Ethnic and national groups of people, Aboriginal Australians
  • 342.0872 - Constitutional and administrative law, Indigenous and Aboriginal peoples
  • 994.0049915 - Australian History, Aboriginal Australians

On the shelves

All the subjects, chapters and summaries of the physics books on our shelves are entered into the catalogue. A simple keyword search is the quickest way to locate these resources:

Reference resources

Encyclopedia

AV Resources

ClickView

Web resources

AIATSIS

The Australian Institute of Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander Studies has been operating for over 60 years, led by Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander peoples and allies, and has a wealth of knowledge, resources, research and education opportunities available.

History
Spirituality
Culture
Dispossession
Uluru Statement

History

History

Spirituality

Spirituality

Culture

Culture

Art

Dispossession

Dispossession

Uluru Statement

The Uluru Statement from the Heart is an invitation to the Australian people from First Nations Australians. It asks Australians to walk together to build a better future by establishing a First Nations Voice to Parliament enshrined in the Constitution, and the establishment of a Makarrata Commission for the purpose of treaty making and truth-telling.

eReserve

  • Pascoe, B 2021, 'Capital', Meanjin, vol. 80, no. 4, pp. 72-75.
  • Reynolds, H 2021, 'Tracking Dark Emu', Meanjin, vol. 80, no. 4, pp. 42-48.

Research & Presentation Task - Specific First Nations and Areas Affected by Cultural Dispossession

The resources on this page are not broken down by First Nation, State or Territory. Instead, this specific information is found through reading a variety of sources that detail the past and present situation for First Nations peoples, and drawing upon the examples used in these sources.

In this presentation, each First Nation, State or Territory should have a Before and an After section, referring to before invasion and colonisation and after invasion and colonisation by Western Europeans.

The topics looked at in each section are:

  • Spirituality and religion
  • Social structure of groups – roles of men and women
  • Land ownership
  • Food
  • Sacred Places
Research
Presentation

Research

Search methodologies

Having a search strategy, or methodology, is an important part of conducting a well structured, systematic, logical, accurate and complete search for information.

Keywords

Within the context of your topic, look for keywords and important concepts. Start building a list of these keywords and then try and think of alternative terms or other keywords for each concept you have identified, and add those to your list as well. This will provide you with a vocabulary list for your topic that you can easily use to search for information.

Language

Language is an important aspect of a search methodology. The language used will be different for each topic and change between disciplines. It could be academic or scientific, it could be historical, or it could be casual and colloquial, depending on the topic. In addition to this, the language that you use to search for information will impact the type of information you find. Searching with academic language will bring you academic sources. Searching with casual language will bring you informal sources.

Tools and databases

St Patrick's College has access to a number of databases. Click here to access the databases.

Sometimes your topic might require searching a more specific set of information or data. In this situation try to look for an organisation that provides data, information and research help on your topic. Often they have their own database available to students and researchers. Some examples of this are:

Library resources

On the shelves

Web resources

Presentation

Library resources

Web resources

Referencing advice: TASC and your teachers at St Patrick's College expect you to present your work with citations and a reference list in the Harvard style for GNFL/Project Implementation. Go to the Library's Referencing Guidelines for extended help in this area. The Library staff are always happy to help you with any queries you may have in regard to referencing requirements for any research you are undertaking.

Faculty resources: All materials purchased by the RE Faculty are also available for student use if it is not required by teachers. Many of these resources are shelved separately in the Library and may be found by using the Library catalogue. You may need to ask Library staff to bring you some titles.

Article Index