St Patrick's College Founders - Year 7 MVPS

Page 1 of 6

St Patrick's College Founders - Year 7 MVPS

St Patrick's College as it is today is the resulting combination of the efforts of the three religious orders that are part of the history of Catholic education in Launceston, Tasmania. The Founders of these religious orders are considered the Founders of the College: founding Christian Brother, Edmund Rice; St Mary MacKillop and Julian Tenison Woods, founders of the Sisters of St Joseph of the Sacred Heart; and Nano Nagle, founder of the Presentation Sisters. The Pastoral Houses of the College are each named for one of these individuals to honour their contribution to Catholic education: Rice, MacKillop, Tenison and Nagle.

Library resources

The Library has a number of unique resources detailing the lives of the College Founders that have been collected over the last 100 years. To access this material, ask at the circulation desk in the Library, or come in with your class for a research lesson.

On the shelves

Use the Library Catalogue to search the following names:

Online resources

In addition to this, see the article index on this page to find links to the subject guides on each individual Founder.