Chemistry (TASC Level 4)

Page 1 of 1

Chemistry (TASC Level 4) - An Introduction

Chemistry is the study of materials and substances, and the transformations they undergo through interactions and transfer of energy

Chemists can use an understanding of chemical structures and processes to adapt, control and manipulate systems to meet particular economic, environmental and social needs. This includes addressing the global challenges of climate change and security of water, food and energy supplies, and designing processes to maximise the efficient use of Earth's finite resources. Studying Chemistry provides a learner opportunity to explore key concepts, models and theories through active inquiry into phenomena and through contexts that exemplify the role of chemistry and chemists in society. The study of chemistry provides a foundation for undertaking investigations in a wide range of scientific fields and often provides the unifying link across interdisciplinary studies.

TASC. Chemistry. Level 4, CHM415115, 2020.

Course information for TASC Chemistry level 4 can be found here.

Library Resources
CSIRO Image Library
Web Resources

Library Resources

In Chemistry the Dewey Numbers that will help you locate information on our shelves are:

  • 540 Chemistry
  • 541 Physical chemistry
  • 543 Analytical chemistry
  • 546 Inorganic chemistry
  • 547 Organic chemistry

There are more resources available in this area. This list just indicates where the majority of books are located in the Library.

Reference resources

Reference resources include encyclopedia, dictionaries, yearbooks and almanacs. Reference material can be a way to determine basic information about a new or unfamiliar topic.

General Encyclopedia

  • World Book Encyclopedia

Subject Encyclopedia

  • How it Works: Science and technology. 3rd edition.
  • Encyclopedia of Technology and Applied Science
  • The World of Science

CSIRO Image Library

The CSIRO Science Image Library has an extensive selection of images you can use in your assignments. They are available to download and copy under a Creative Commons licence. You must acknowledge and provide a citation to the CSIRO when you use any of these images.

Web Resources

Be careful what you download and use from the Internet.

Before using information from a web address ensure you are looking at a publication from a legitimate source. Material from the Internet often does not acknowledge the author or creator, does not cite references or footnotes, or include any type of bibliography or reference list. Use this type of material with caution. As part of your research process you need to sort out the reliable sources from the less trustworthy sites.

If in doubt always check with your teacher. For further information read the Library Fact Sheet Evaluating Information from the Web.

Online Reference

General Information

Faculty resources: All material purchased for the teachers in the Science Faculty is also available for student use if it is not required by the teachers. The resources are kept in the Library and can be found by using the Library catalogue.

Article Index