Lewis Carroll (is the pseudonym of Charles Lutwidge Dodgson) was an English mathematician, photographer and novelist. He is best remembered for his much loved, quirky, Alice's Adventures in Wonderland (1865) and its sequel Through the Looking-Glass. (1871). These books have delighted both children and adults alike, and his book The Hunting of the Snark is considered wonderful example of literary nonsense.
On the shelves
The Library has many different editions of 'Alice in Wonderland' these are just a few:
- Alice in Wonderland ; with an introduction by Langford Reed and illustrations by Helen Monro. [Alexander Classic Library edition] This copy dates back to the original collections held by what was then the St Patrick's College Library, Prospect campus.
- Alice's adventures in wonderland with illustrations by Robert Ingpen
- The Annotated Alice: the definitive edition. Includes Alice's Adventures in Wonderland and Through the Looking Glass; with the original illustrations by John Tenniel with an introduction and notes by Martin Gardner.
Nonsense poem
- The Hunting of the Snark: an agony in eight fits by Lewis Carroll; illustrated by Mervyn Peake
History and criticism
- Douglas-Fairhurst, Robert 2015, The Story of Alice: Lewis Carroll and the secret history of wonderland, Harvill Secker, London
- Winchester, Simon 2011, The Alice behind Wonderland, Oxford University Press, Oxford.
- Woolf, Jenny 2010, The Mystery of Lewis Carroll: discovering the whimsical, thoughtful, and sometimes lonely man who created Alice in Wonderland, St Martin's Press, New York
Collection highlights
- Gardner, Martin 1990, More annotated Alice: Alice's adventures in wonderland and through the looking-glass and what Alice found there by Lewis Carroll, with illustrations by Peter Newell.
- Higonnet, Anne 2014, Lewis Carroll, Phaidon, London. Here is a selection of Lewis Carroll's photographs, and not just those of Alice Liddell but also portraits of eminent members of Victorian society, and the English landscape.
- Lewis Carroll's Alice's Adventures in Wonderland with pictures by Yayoi Kusama, 2012. Since childhood, Kusama has been afflicted with a condition that makes her see spots, which means she sees the world in a surreal, almost hallucinogenic way that sits very well with the Wonderland of Alice. She is fascinated by childhood and the way adults have the ability, at their most creative, to see things the way children do, a central concern of the Alice books.
Alice in Art
- Delahuntry Gavin, Schulz, Christoph Benjamin (2011), Alice in wonderland: through the visual arts, Tate Publishing, London
- Charles Blackman: Alice in wonderland with Geoffrey Smith and Felicity St John Moore. This is the catalogue accompanied 'Charles Blackman: Alice in Wonderland' exhibition held at The Ian Potter Centre: NGV Australia at Federation Square 11 August - 15 October 2006.
Adaptations
- Alice: a musical play in two acts by James Leisy with song by James Leisy & Carl Eberhard. Includes the full vocal score and dialogue - From the Arts: Media collections
- Alice in wonderland by Lewis Carroll adapted by Bill Hendrie and James McCue
Reference resources
General encyclopedia
- World Book Encyclopedia
Subject encyclopedia
- Dabble, Margaret edt. 2000, The Oxford companion to English literature, 6th ed., page 280 - Entry under Dodgson, Charles Lutwidge
- Payne, Tom 1977, The A-Z of Great Artists, Carlton, London, page 70