English Studio (TASC Level 2)

Page 1 of 1

English Studio (TASC Level 2) - An Introduction

English Studio Level 2 is a Professional studies course that introduces learners to the art and industry of writing. The course is suited to learners who enjoy writing and wish to discover or develop skills and techniques to create compelling stories and authentic content for a range of publications. The course will provide learners with opportunities to experience writing in different forms for specific purposes, audiences and contexts. These include writing for young markets, script and screen writing and journalistic and persuasive writing.

TASC. English Studio. Level 2, ENS215124, 2025.

Course details can be found on the TASC website here.

Folios: When undertaking any independent study, research or book review, or building a folio, you must allow yourself enough time to search for and locate the material you need. To help you a booking sheet is kept at the Library desk where you may book an individual time with one of the Library staff when commencing any research for English Studio Level 2.

Library Resources
Web Resources
Subscriptions

Library Resources

In English Studio Level 2, the Dewey Numbers that will help you locate texts on our shelves are:

  • 070-79 Journalism
  • 428 English language, English usage and written communication
  • 811 American poetry
  • 812 American drama
  • 813 American prose/fiction
  • 821 English poetry
  • 822 English drama
  • 823 English prose/fiction
  • A821 Australian poetry
  • A822 Australian drama
  • A823 Australian prose/fiction

Picture Books

Picture books are located at the end of the 800s in the Non-Fiction collection.

Non-Fiction

In the Non-Fiction collection, texts are split into topics or subjects. Use the Library Catalogue to search for texts by title, author, or subject.

Study Guides and Notes

Study notes, such as Cliffs Notes and other literature guides can be an important way to gather information about a text you are studying. They are entered onto the library catalogue and may be located by searching by series, title or author.

Reference Resources

These include encyclopedia, dictionaries, yearbooks and almanacs. Reference material can be a way to determine basic information about a new or unfamiliar topic.

Web Resources

Be careful what you download and use from the Internet.

Before using information from a web address ensure you are looking at a publication from a legitimate source. Material from the Internet often does not acknowledge the author or creator, does not cite references or footnotes, or include any type of bibliography or reference list. Use this type of material with caution. As part of your research process you need to sort out the reliable sources from the less trustworthy sites.

If in doubt always check with your teacher.

Subscriptions

The Library has a subscription to Kill Your Darlings, read more about it below:

Founded by Rebecca Starford and Hannah Kent, Kill Your Darlings (KYD) is one of Australia’s leading arts and culture magazines. Beginning life as a print quarterly in 2010, KYD is today a vibrant and eclectic online magazine of commentary, essays, interviews, fiction and reviews. In addition to championing Australian writers, KYD also runs several early-career writing awards, produces a regular podcast, provides professional writing services such as workshops, mentorships and manuscript assessments, and hosts literary events. We are also the publisher of the annual short-story anthology, New Australian Fiction. Our magazine is proudly independent.

You can access KYD through the Database page on the Library Website.

Course Content

Learners will create at least three major texts in each module. Teachers may set other assessments to enable them to provide formative feedback and support the development of the work requirements. In English Studio Level 2 learners will produce short texts. These can be represented as short, standalone texts or parts of texts, such as a chapter.

    Teaching, learning and assessment of print multimodal texts

    The course focuses on the creation of written texts. All work should be assessed for the quality of the writing. However, learners may use print multimodal elements for appropriate text types to demonstrate an understanding of how the imagery interacts with the text. Learners may create their own images or use and reference the work of others such as digital images, photographs, illustrations and graphics. The production quality or originality of images must not influence the assessment of learner created texts which contain print multimodal elements. In contrast to using images, learners can provide notes about the illustrations or images needed to accompany a piece.

    TASC. English Studio. Level 2, ENS215124, 2025, www.tasc.tas.gov.au/students/courses/english/ens215124/.

      Young Markets
      Script and Screen
      Persuasive

      Young Markets

      Module 1 - Writing for Young Markets

      Learners are introduced to the craft and business of writing for audiences of children to young adults. This includes the picture book and graphic novel industry, as well as illustrated texts. Learners will choose to develop short fictional texts in any form for one of the following target audiences within the young market context:

      • Writing for young adults
      • Writing for middle grades
      • Writing for children

      Work requirements for Module 1 are:

      Mode or format: creative fiction response. Description: One written or print multimodal response. Learners select and craft a short text type and a short, marketing blurb to promote their text, for example: short story, beginning chapter/s of a novel, illustrated story, picture book, verse novel, poetry. Extent: 1000-1200 words for a prose fiction text, 1000-1200 words for illustrated stories (prose fiction plus a small number of accompanying illustrations or illustration notes), maximum of 650 words for comics or graphic novels (plus accompanying images or illustration notes), maximum of 650 words for picture books (plus accompanying images or illustration notes), maximum of 500 words for a verse novel, maximum of 250 words for poetry (single or multiple poems), maximum of 75 words for marketing blurb.

      Library Resources

      The Library's Middle Fiction collection houses our young adult material. Use the Library catalogue to get you quickly to the resources we have on our shelves.

      Collection Highlights

      AV Resources

      ClickView

      Web Resources 

      Young Adult

      Picture Books

      Graphic Novel

      Trends

      Script and Screen

      Module 2 - Script and Screen

      Learners will craft short performance texts, or fictional, or non-fictional stories for a range of audiences. This can be in either live or recorded formats for a range of physical or digital platforms. Learners engage with professional writing practice to learn about the principles, elements and conventions of script or screen writing. Learners can choose to develop either short script or screen texts in one of the following contexts:

      • Writing for live performance (stage)
      • Writing for recorded performance (screen, radio or podcast)

      Work requirements for Module 2 are:

      Mode or format: folio. Description: the folio will comprise: one extended first draft written script or screenplay, working to a script writing assignment, learners research and read performative texts to craft a short text; workshopping of script or screenplay resulting in one short annotated first draft script. Learners give and receive feedback by workshopping each class member’s script. They create and submit an annotated version of their first draft script after engaging in the workshopping process, demonstrating their ability to assess their own work and respond to feedback as they prepare to continue to draft their script or screenplay; one extended edited written script or screenplay. Learners, in consultation with their teacher, identify 2-3 awards or prizes where the kind of script or screenplay they are crafting could be theoretically submitted. Learners choose one of these (awards or prizes) and follow the submission guidelines, including formatting, in their final edit. Learners also develop a log line synopsis which encapsulates the main idea of the script in one sentence. Extent: maximum of 800 words for the first draft script including stage directions, maximum of 350 words for the script annotations, maximum of 800 words for the edited script, including stage directions, maximum of 50 words for the log line.

      Library Resources

      The Library's Non-Fiction collection houses the majority of plays and scripts. There are also a number of resources in both the English faculty collection and the Art faculty's Speech and Drama collection. Use the Library catalogue to get you quickly to the resources we have on our shelves. 

      Collection Highlights

      AV Resources

      ClickView

      YouTube

      Web Resources 

      Drama

      Documentary

      Podcasts

      Rap

      Ethical and Legal

      Persuasive

      Module 3 - Information and Persuasion

      Learners craft information or persuasive non-fiction texts aimed at creating an impact in the community and their contemporary world. They will craft non-fictional texts for a range of audiences. The texts created can include appropriate print multimodal language features designed for a range of physical or digital platforms. Learners are introduced to writing about current social issues through different text types that work to inform or persuade. Learners craft short non-fiction texts for one of the following purposes:

      • Writing to inform: news journalist
      • Writing for social change: social media and public relations

      Work requirements for Module 3 are:

      Work requirement 1 of 2. Mode or format: folio, original non-fiction texts. Description: Applying relevant industry knowledge, learners research and craft two short information or persuasion texts, which may contain print multimodal elements, and which examine or advocate for an issue or cause of their choice in contemporary Australian society. For example: news report, news blog, opinion piece, personal essay, feature article, or social media campaign. Extent: combined size of two media texts maximum of 1200 words.

      Work requirement 2 of 2.       Mode or format: one extended response. Description: Writer’s promotional text. Learners produce one extended mock writer’s promotional text. Working to a content brief developed by the provider, learners craft a mock writer’s website. Learners demonstrate their understanding of current professional industry practice and their ability to use linguistic and visual language structures and features for the purpose of representation, promotion and persuasion to engage audiences. The mock writer’s website will consist of three web pages: a home or about page, including an original ‘writer’s avatar’ image, created by the learner, a short author’s biography that does not reveal the identity of the learner but in all other ways aims to be true and authentic; portfolio or works page, including original work samples, ordered and sequenced and previously assessed and developed by the learner over modules 1, 2 and 3; and a contacts page, including fake contact details such as e-mail, mobile and socials (social media). Each web page will contain: a header or banner; a title; navigation bar or menu; copy (‘words’, ‘text’), including types, styles, colours and sizes; colours, background and theme; footer, containing relevant copyright information; links, indicated by underline and standard mid-blue colour associated with links and as distinct from other colours used for copy on the site. Learners adopt a pseudonym that reflects their writer’s avatar. Extent: the mock writer’s website is a total of maximum 825 words, including: maximum of 500 words and images for the mock writer’s website, maximum of 100 words for the short author’s bio, maximum of 225 words for three marketing blurbs (75 words each) to accompany each original work sample.

      Library Resources

      The Library's Non-Fiction collection houses a vast collection of informative, journalistic and analytical texts on current issues. Use the Library catalogue to get you quickly to the resources we have on our shelves.

      Collection Highlights

      Digital Newspapers

      You can access digital newspaper articles through the Database page on the Library Website. Both the Examiner (Launceston) and the Mercury (Hobart) have full digital editions. A number of other newspaper publications are available via EBSCO ANZ Reference Centre.

      Web Resources

      News

      Social Issues

      Social Media

      Referencing advice: TASC and your teachers at St Patrick's College expect you to present your work using the Modern Language Association referencing system, 9th edition (MLA9). When you cite information you use the author's last name and the page number. You will also create a Works Cited List that will refer to all the works that appear as in-text citations. For further information go to the Library's Referencing Guidelines for extended help in this area. The Library staff are always happy to help you with any queries you may have in regard to referencing requirements for any research you are undertaking.

      Faculty resources: All material purchased for the teachers in the English Faculty is also available for student use if it is not required by the teachers. The resources are kept in the Library and can be found by using the Library catalogue.

      Article Index