Eight Aspects of all Religions

Page 4 of 6

Hinduism

"Hinduism is more a culture than a creed"

Radhakrishnan, Former President of India.

Hinduism began in India over 5000 years ago, and it has been evolving ever since. There are many Hindus elsewhere in Asia, in Africa, the Caribbean, and Europe. Their faith is as varied as their geographical spread. Some Hindus believe in one god, others honour many gods, or believe that the faith's many deities are all aspects of one supreme being.

Many of their other beliefs vary, for there is not standard creed and no standard rituals. But all Hindus share the idea of rebirth, believing that all living things are part of an ongoing process of life, death, and rebirth. Hindus seek to break out of this cycle by means of moksha, or release. The concept of Dharma means law, duty, justice, and virtuousness, emphasizing that correct behaviour is central to the faith.

Wilkinson, P & Charing, D 2004, Encyclopedia of Religion, Dorling Kindersley, London, p. 28.

Library Resources
AV Resources
Eight Aspects
Web Resources

Library Resources

Books on our shelves

Dewey Number

  • Hinduism - 294.5

Keyword Searching

Subject Headings

Collection highlights

Non-fiction

  • Diwali (From the Festivals & Faiths series)
  • Hinduism (From Atlas of World Faiths) - Provides a historical development of Hinduism.
  • The Hindus and Sikhs in Australia
  • India (From the Living Wisdom series). Includes beliefs and rituals associated with Hinduism
  • The Illustrated encyclopedia of Hinduism: a comprehensive guide to Hindu history and philosophy, its traditions and practices, rituals and beliefs. [This encyclopedia is on the non-fiction shelves and may be borrowed].

Literature

  • Midnight's children by Salman Rushdie. 25th anniversary edition with a new introduction by the author

One of the most influential Hindu was Mahatma Gandhi. Use some of the Library's resources to explore this influential advocate who peacefully fought for independence for India.

eBooks

Reference Resources

On the shelves

General Encyclopedia

  • World Book Encyclopedia

AV Resources

From the Mary MacKillop Library

Online audio visual resources

Eight Aspects

Beliefs

  • Teece, F. (2003) Hinduism, Franklin Watts, London
  • 'Beliefs' in Goldberg, P. (2013) Exploring world religions and ethics: religion and ethics for senior secondary students, Cambridge University Press, Cambridge, pp. 240-245.
  • Basics of Hinduism: Nine beliefs of Hinduism

Myths and other stories

Sacred texts

  • The Bhagavad Gita: as it is: a new translation, with commentary by Swami A.C. Bhaktivedanta, with appreciations, including one from Allen Ginsberg
  • 'Scriptures' in Voiels, V. (1998), Hinduism: a new approach, Hodder & Stoughton, Oxon, pp. 53-60.
  • Sacred texts: Hinduism

Rituals

Symbols

Social structure

Ethical principles and oral or written codes of behaviour

  • 'Values' in Teece, G. Hinduism, Franklin Watts, London, pp. 28-29.
  • 'Truth and the universe' in Bowker, J. (2003), World religions: the great faiths explored and explained, Dorling Kindersley, London, pp.42-43
  • Hindu ethics from Hindu Online

Religious experiences and spirituality

  • Kadodwala, D. (2010), Diwali, Evans Brothers, London.
  • 'Ganga Ma: Mother Ganges' in Self, D. (2008), The Lion encyclopedia of world religions, Lion Hudson, Oxford, pp. 74-75.
  • Diwali - From BBC Schools - Religion
  • Holi, the Festival of Colour From the ABC The Holi festival traditionally celebrates the victory of good over evil, with the defeat of the evil Holika and Hiranyakashipu by Vishnu in Hindu mythology.

Web Resources

Article Index