In studying Environmental Science, learners develop their investigative, analytical and communication skills.
Learners apply these skills to their understanding of ecology and environmental issues in order to engage in public debate, solve problems and make evidence-based decisions about contemporary environmental issues in society.
TASC. Environmental Science. Level 3, ESS315118, 2020.
Course Information for TASC Environmental Science level 3 can be found here.
The Library catalogue is a powerful searching tool that can quickly locate material in our collections.
Dewey Numbers
The following Dewey Number will locate material on our shelves:
Keyword searching
Enter a word or phrase into a basic keyword search. Some suggestions, with results could include:
Subject searching:
Collection highlights
eBooks
Issues in Society
Reference resources
On the shelf
The CSIRO Science Image Library has an extensive selection of images you can use in your assignments. They are available to download and copy under a Creative Commons licence. You must acknowledge and provide a citation to the CSIRO when you use any of these images.
Be careful what you download and use from the Internet.
Before using information from a web address ensure you are looking at a publication from a legitimate source. Material from the Internet often does not acknowledge the author or creator, does not cite references or footnotes, or include any type of bibliography or reference list. Use this type of material with caution. As part of your research process you need to sort out the reliable sources from the less trustworthy sites.
If in doubt always check with your teacher. For further information read the Library Fact Sheet Evaluating Information from the Web.
Faculty resources: All material purchased for the teachers in the Science Faculty is also available for student use if it is not required by the teachers. The resources are kept in the Library and can be found by using the Library catalogue.
Sustainable food has been grown or produced with consideration of its health, environmental and social impact. As with all sustainable shopping, this includes where the food was made, the materials it was made from, how it is packaged and any energy efficiency or environmental ratings.
Shop Sustainability 2022, Sustainability Victoria, retrieved 17 February 2023, https://www.sustainability.vic...
Food security exists when all people, at all times, have physical, social and economic access to sufficient, safe and nutritious food which meets their dietary needs and food preferences for an active and healthy life.
Food and Agricultural Organisation of the United Nations 2003, 'Food security: concepts and measurements', Trace Reforms and Food Security, retrieved 17 February 2023, https://www.fao.org/3/y4671e/y...
It is estimated by the Australian International Food Security Centre that there are now one in nine people in the world, that is over 800 million people, who go hungry everyday. More than half of these people are small farmers and their families, who rely on their farms both to feed themselves and also earn them additional funds. Australia is well placed to help contribute to improving food security in developing countries across Africa, Asia and the Pacific by sharing its expertise in agricultural research. This is important as improving agriculture is one of the main ways to ensure or to improve food security.
Food security and why it matters 2014, AIFSRC, retrieved 17 February 2023, https://aifsc.aciar.gov.au/foo...
Food Systems
Parsons, K & Wells, R 2019, Food Systems SDGs, IISD, retrieved 17 February 2023, https://www.iisd.org/articles/...
Niles, MT, Ahuja, R, Esquivel, MJ, Mango, N, Duncan, M, Heller, M & Tirado, C 2017, Food Systems, IISD, retrieved 17 February 2023, https://www.iisd.org/articles/...
On the shelves
The Library catalogue is a powerful searching tool. Use a basic keyword search to get you quickly to the resources you will find on our shelves.
Collection highlights
Then for something completely different you may like to read:
eBooks
Issues in Society
Britannica Stax
Reference resources
General Encyclopedia
DVDs
ClickView
Episodes
Searches
Audio files
Download the following audio from a variety ABC's Radio National programs:
Australia
International
Climate change and food supply
Famine
Case Studies
Salmon farming is an important industry in Tasmania, providing employment and economic benefits to the region. However, the sustainability of the industry has come under scrutiny due to concerns over its environmental impact. Salmon farming can have negative effects on water quality, ecosystem health, and wild fish populations, particularly if not properly managed. In response, the industry has implemented measures to reduce its impact, such as using more sustainable feed and adopting new technologies to minimize waste and pollution. Tasmania has also established a comprehensive regulatory framework to ensure that salmon farming activities are conducted in an environmentally responsible manner. While challenges remain, such as the need to address disease and parasites, the industry is making progress in improving its sustainability and addressing the concerns of stakeholders, including environmental groups and fishing communities.
Library Resources
On the shelves
Collection highlights
AV Resources
ClickView
Web Resources
Sustainability
Impacts
Tasmania
Overfishing in Australia is a significant issue that poses a threat to the sustainability of the country's marine ecosystems and the livelihoods of those who depend on them. The overexploitation of fish populations can have far-reaching ecological, social, and economic consequences, such as the decline of marine biodiversity, reduced food security, and the loss of jobs and income for fishing communities. Australian authorities have implemented various measures to manage and protect fish stocks, including quotas, size limits, and marine protected areas. While these efforts have had some success, challenges remain in ensuring the sustainability of fishing activities, such as the need to balance economic interests with conservation objectives and to address illegal, unreported and unregulated fishing. Continued efforts and collaboration among stakeholders are necessary to promote the long-term sustainability of Australia's fisheries.
Library Resources
AV Resources
ClickView
Web Resources
The sustainability of Australian crop production is a multifaceted issue that depends on factors such as soil health, water use efficiency, pesticide use, and biodiversity. Australian farmers have made significant progress in improving the sustainability of crop production through the adoption of conservation agriculture practices, including minimum tillage and cover cropping. Additionally, the industry has implemented water management strategies to conserve water and reduce irrigation demand. However, the industry still faces challenges such as soil degradation, soil erosion, and the use of pesticides and fertilizers. In order to improve the sustainability of Australian crop production, ongoing efforts are needed to reduce the environmental impact of agriculture, promote soil health and biodiversity, and increase the efficiency of resource use.
Library Resources
On the shelves
Collection highlights
AV Resources
ClickView
Web Resources
General
First Nations agriculture
The sustainability of the Australian meat industry is a complex issue that depends on various factors such as animal welfare, environmental impact, and economic viability. On one hand, the industry has made progress in reducing its environmental footprint, with initiatives such as carbon neutrality targets and water conservation measures. Additionally, Australia has strict animal welfare regulations, and the industry is constantly striving to improve animal welfare practices. However, the industry still faces challenges such as the need to reduce greenhouse gas emissions, manage land use, and adapt to changing consumer preferences for plant-based diets. Overall, the sustainability of the Australian meat industry is an ongoing effort that requires collaboration and innovation from industry stakeholders, policymakers, and consumers.
Library Resources
On the shelves
AV Resources
ClickView
Web Resources