Art Movements

Page 3 of 6

Painting

The way imagination works is similar in all people. It is still much the same as it was in the days when caveman first began to paint. Only the things we imagine and the way we put them into pictures have changed. These changes are what the story of painting is about.

Janson, H W & Janson, D J 1977, The Story of painting: from cave painting to modern times, Harry N. Abrams, New York. 

Painting (art) the creation of a work of aesthetic import by skilled application of paint to a surface or ground.

Mayer, R 1993, Collins dictionary of art terms & techniques, Collins, Glasgow.

Library Resources
Magazines
AV Resources
Websites
Australian Painters
UK Painters
French Painters
European Painters
American Painters

Library Resources

Use the Library catalogue to find resources on style and techniques in regard to painting and artists who work in this medium.

Dewey Number

  • Portrait painting - 757---
  • Art & artists, by period from 759 ---

Keyword Searching

  • Painting - Includes books and audio visual resources. You can also enter an artist by:

Type the artist you are looking for into a keyword search, eg. David Hockney - or art from a certain period, e.g. Pre-Raphaelites

You can also look for resources by type of material that has been used by the artist:

You can search under styles of painting. Western art includes many styles, many of these can be found in the Library's collection of art books:

Contemporary art now takes many forms, limited only by how an artist prefers to express themselves. Some of these styles are listed below, many more can be found by using the catalogue or browsing the shelves.

Idioms

Subject Headings

If you know exactly what you are looking for use the subject search option in the catalogue for a more focused approach to your research:

Reference Material

Reference material can include dictionaries, encyclopedia, yearbooks and almanacs. Use the following reference books to clarify terms associated with painting and painters.

From Library reference shelves:

Additional reference resources:

Don't forget to log in to the Library's Britannica Online. Many of the images in this database may be used for your research and you will not have to worry about infringing copyright if you use them in your assignments. Britannica Online also constructs the Harvard citation for each image you use, which must be included in your reference list.

Magazines

The Library has the following art magazines on the shelves:

AV Resources

The Library has a wide-range of AV material on DVD and as digital movies that may be streamed via the Library catalogue. This is a list of some of those highly recommended by your teachers. Please ask at the AV Office for extended help in this area.

Podcasts & Videos

Podcasts and video online - Ensure you access any copyright or online access requirements if you use to any material found on these sites.

Artbabble. ArtBabble is a website that showcases high quality art-related video content from more than 50 cultural institutions from around the world. Created in 2009, the website was conceived, designed, programmed, and launched by a cross-departmental collection of individuals at the Indianapolis Museum of Art

Websites

Art cyclopeida - there are 2,600 art sites indexed within Artcyclopedia. Here, you can search for images of works by over 8,700 artists. There are numerous ways to browse the site - by artist name, by art movement, or by title.

Design and Art Australia Online (DAAO) - A dictionary of Australian artists online.

Google Art Project Google has partnered with hundreds of museums, cultural institutions, and archives to host the world’s cultural treasures online.

The Metropolitan Museum of Art - The Metropolitan Museum of Art has released a vast archive of 400,000 ( that you can download and use for non-commercial purposes.) For more information you can read conditions of use. Other images can be found from their extensive collections.

Australian Painters

Charles Blackman (1928- )

Arthur Boyd (1920-1999)

Grace Cossington Smith (1892-1984)

Margaret Olley (1923-2011)

  • Library resources: Margaret Olley
  • eReserve: MacAulay, Bettina, 'Nature, Life and Margaret Olley', Art and Australia, Volume 28, Number 3, pg352-359

Tom Roberts (1856-1931)

Brett Whiteley (1939-1992)

Fred Williams (1927-1982)

Philip Wolfhagen (1963-)

UK Painters

Francis Bacon

John Constable

Gilbert & George

  • Library Resources Gilbert & George
  • eReserve: Allen, C, 2016, 'Bawdily eccentric' in Weekend Australian Review, February 20-21, pp.12-13.

David Hockney

Tracey Emin

Damien Hirst

J.M.W. Turner

French Painters

Henri De Toulouse-Lautrec

Edgar Degas

Amedeo Modigliani

Oscar-Claude Monet

Pierre-Auguste Renior

European Painters

Italy

Michelangelo Merisi da Caravaggio

Netherlands

Rembrandt

Vermeer

Spain

Pablo Picasso

American Painters

United States

Alex Katz

Andy Warhol

Mexico

Frida Kahlo

Referencing advice: The TASC and your teachers at St Patrick's College expect you to present your work with citations and a reference list in the Harvard (author/date) format. Go to the Library's Referencing Guidelines for extended help in this area. The Library staff are always happy to help you with any queries you may have in regard to referencing requirements for any research you are undertaking.

If you are lucky enough to visit the Museum of Old and New Art in Hobart there are additional guidelines you will be required to use when referencing material from their O-device. Please ask at the Library or your teacher for help.

Article Index