Writing Pitches for Publication

Page 2 of 2

English Studio (TASC Level 3) - An Introduction

English Studio Level 3 is a Professional studies course that focuses on the art and industry of writing. This course is suitable for learners who wish to pursue their writing passion and explore their own distinctive talents. The course provides learners with opportunities to further refine their writing skills to craft quality texts to manuscript standard.

TASC. English Studio. Level 3, ENS315124, 2024.

Course details can be found on the TASC website here.

Folios: When undertaking any independent study, research or book review, or building a folio, you must allow yourself enough time to search for and locate the material you need. To help you a booking sheet is kept at the Library desk where you may book an individual time with one of the Library staff when commencing any research for English Studio Level 3.

Library Resources
Prescribed Texts
Web Resources
Subscriptions

Library Resources

In English Studio, the Dewey Numbers that will help you locate texts on our shelves are:

  • 428 English language, English usage and written communication
  • 808 Rhetoric of literature and writing
  • 811 American poetry
  • 812 American drama
  • 813 American prose/fiction
  • 821 English poetry (Individual poets)
  • 821.08 English poetry collections
  • 822 English drama
  • 822.33 Shakespeare
  • 823 English prose/fiction
  • A821 Australian poetry
  • A822 Australian drama
  • A823 Australian prose/fiction
  • Literature for countries and languages other than English are after 830, e.g. German literature is located in 830, French literature in 840.

Non-Fiction

In the Non-Fiction collection, texts are split into topics or subjects. Use the Library Catalogue to search for texts by title, author, or subject.

Study Guides and Notes

Study notes, such as Cliffs Notes and other literature guides can be an important way to gather information about a text you are studying. They are entered onto the library catalogue and may be located by searching by series, title or author.

The English Faculty and the Library purchase titles in these series. They are shelved in the Department Room in the Library. They are not arranged in the normal Dewey order; rather, they are shelved by author followed by title. Ask for help at the desk to access these resources.

We can also arrange to purchase titles that are not in the collection. You will need to allow us enough time to locate and purchase them.

Reference Resources

These include encyclopedia, dictionaries, yearbooks and almanacs. Reference material can be a way to determine basic information about a new or unfamiliar topic.

General Encyclopedia

030 WOR World Book Encyclopedia

Subject Encyclopedia

919.403 The Australian Encyclopedia
The library also has many individual reference titles including a range of titles in the Oxford Companion series.

Prescribed Texts

Use the article index on the right of this page to access the TASC prescribed text list for English Studio.

Web Resources

Be careful what you download and use from the Internet.

Before using information from a web address ensure you are looking at a publication from a legitimate source. Material from the Internet often does not acknowledge the author or creator, does not cite references or footnotes, or include any type of bibliography or reference list. Use this type of material with caution. As part of your research process you need to sort out the reliable sources from the less trustworthy sites.

If in doubt always check with your teacher.

Subscriptions

The Library has a subscription to Kill Your Darlings, read more about it below:

Founded by Rebecca Starford and Hannah Kent, Kill Your Darlings (KYD) is one of Australia’s leading arts and culture magazines. Beginning life as a print quarterly in 2010, KYD is today a vibrant and eclectic online magazine of commentary, essays, interviews, fiction and reviews. In addition to championing Australian writers, KYD also runs several early-career writing awards, produces a regular podcast, provides professional writing services such as workshops, mentorships and manuscript assessments, and hosts literary events. We are also the publisher of the annual short-story anthology, New Australian Fiction. Our magazine is proudly independent.

You can access KYD through the Database page on the Library Website.

Creative Non-Fiction

On its very baseline creative nonfiction is a literary genre. Some people call it the fourth genre, along with poetry, fiction and drama. And it’s an umbrella term for the many different ways one can write what is called creative nonfiction. Memoir, for example, personal essay, biography, narrative history and long form narrative reportage may all fit under the creative nonfiction umbrella. Recently, as the genre has evolved, there have been offshoots to the genre like speculative nonfiction, auto(biographical) fiction, lyric essay, and the visual essay, to name only a few.

Gutkind, Lee. "What is Creative Nonfiction?" Creativenonfiction.org, https://creativenonfiction.org/what-is-cnf.

For detailed information on Module 2 Creative Non-Fiction please refer to the Writing Pitches for Publication subject guide.

Creative Non-Fiction

Creative Non-Fiction

Library resources

Collection highlights

AV resources

ClickView

Web resources

Referencing advice: TASC and your teachers at St Patrick's College expect you to present your work using the Modern Language Association referencing system, 9th edition (MLA9). When you cite information you use the author's last name and the page number. You will also create a Works Cited List that will refer to all the works that appear as in-text citations. For further information go to the Library's Referencing Guidelines for extended help in this area. The Library staff are always happy to help you with any queries you may have in regard to referencing requirements for any research you are undertaking.

Faculty resources: All material purchased for the teachers in the English Faculty is also available for student use if it is not required by the teachers. The resources are kept in the Library and can be found by using the Library catalogue.

Article Index