Food and Nutrition (TASC Level 3)

Page 1 of 1

Food and Nutrition (TASC Level 3) - An Introduction

Food and Nutrition provides a broad study of food issues which have ongoing relevance to individuals and community health and wellbeing

The knowledge, skills and attitudes gained during the course will have applications in, and benefits for, academic, vocational and general life experiences. Students will learn to analyse and draw evidence-based conclusions in response to nutrition and food information, food advertising and current dietary trends.

TASC. Food and Nutrition. Level 3, FDN315118, 2020.

Course information for TASC Food and Nutrition level 3 can be found here.

Investigation Project (IPs): When undertaking any investigation project, independent study, research or literature review you must allow yourself enough time to search for and locate the material you will need. To help you a booking sheet is kept at the Library desk where you may book an individual time with one of the Library staff when commencing any research for Food and Nutrition.

Library Resources
AV Resources
Web Resources

Library Resources

On our shelves

The Library catalogue is a powerful searching tool. Use a basic keyword search to get you quickly to the resources you will find on our shelves.

Start with some of these basic keyword terms:

eBooks

Issues in Society [Hard copies of Issues in Society can be found on the Library shelves]

Reference resources

On the shelves

General encyclopedia

  • The World Book

Subject reference titles

There is a range of single volume reference tools you can use in the area of Food and Nutrition. For example:

Magazines

The Library and Technology Faculty subscribe to a variety of magazines which you may find useful:

AV Resources

The Library has a wide range of AV material on DVD and as digital movies that can be located by searching on the Library catalogue. Please find below a list of suggested resources, ask in the AV office for extended help.

ClickView

DVD

Web Resources

Be careful what you download and use from the Internet.

Before using information from a web address ensure you are looking at a publication from a legitimate source. Material from the Internet often does not acknowledge the author or creator, does not cite references or footnotes, or include any type of bibliography or reference list. Use this type of material with caution. As part of your research process you need to sort out the reliable sources from the less trustworthy sites.

If in doubt always check with your teacher. For further information read the Library Fact Sheet Evaluating Information from the Web.

General

Diet

Food sociology

Health promotion

Not-for-profit

Health research organisations

Health promotion campaigns

Global food issues

Referencing advice: TASC and your teachers at St Patrick's College expect you to present your work with citations and a reference list in the Harvard style for Food and Nutrition. Go to the Library's Referencing Guidelines for extended help in this area. The Library staff are always happy to help you with any queries you may have in regard to referencing requirements for any research you are undertaking.

Faculty resources: All material purchased by the HASS Faculty are also available for student use if it is not required by teachers. Many of these resources are shelved separately in the Library and may be found by using the Library catalogue. You may need to ask Library staff to bring you some titles.

Page 3 of 5

Food Security and Sustainability

Sustainable food has been grown or produced with consideration of its health, environmental and social impact. As with all sustainable shopping, this includes where the food was made, the materials it was made from, how it is packaged and any energy efficiency or environmental ratings.

Shop Sustainability 2022, Sustainability Victoria, retrieved 17 February 2023, https://www.sustainability.vic...

Food security exists when all people, at all times, have physical, social and economic access to sufficient, safe and nutritious food which meets their dietary needs and food preferences for an active and healthy life.

Food and Agricultural Organisation of the United Nations 2003, 'Food security: concepts and measurements', Trace Reforms and Food Security, retrieved 17 February 2023, https://www.fao.org/3/y4671e/y...

It is estimated by the Australian International Food Security Centre that there are now one in nine people in the world, that is over 800 million people, who go hungry everyday. More than half of these people are small farmers and their families, who rely on their farms both to feed themselves and also earn them additional funds. Australia is well placed to help contribute to improving food security in developing countries across Africa, Asia and the Pacific by sharing its expertise in agricultural research. This is important as improving agriculture is one of the main ways to ensure or to improve food security.

Food security and why it matters 2014, AIFSRC, retrieved 17 February 2023, https://aifsc.aciar.gov.au/foo...

Food Systems

Food Systems SDGs

Parsons, K & Wells, R 2019, Food Systems SDGs, IISD, retrieved 17 February 2023, https://www.iisd.org/articles/...

Food Systems

Niles, MT, Ahuja, R, Esquivel, MJ, Mango, N, Duncan, M, Heller, M & Tirado, C 2017, Food Systems, IISD, retrieved 17 February 2023, https://www.iisd.org/articles/...

Library Resources
eReserve
AV Resources
Web Resources

Library Resources

On the shelves

The Library catalogue is a powerful searching tool. Use a basic keyword search to get you quickly to the resources you will find on our shelves.

Collection highlights

  • The Atlas of food : who eats what, where, and why by Erik Millstone and Tim Lang. This atlas maps every link of the food chain, from farming, production and retail to the food on our plates. It also investigates how, in an era of new technologies, globalized food trade and even plentiful supply, millions remain hungry.
  • Food security, nutrition and sustainability edited by Geoffrey Lawrence, Kristen Lyons and Tabatha Wallington. This book offers a critical insights, written by international scholars, on global food security, supermarket power, new technologies and sustainability.
  • Global food crisis / edited by Justin Healey, from Issues in Society, volume 327, Global food production will have to rise 70 per cent by 2050 as the world population expands to 9.1 billion from 6.8 billion people. Recent global food prices have been the highest on record, exceeding 2008 levels that sparked deadly riots across the world. What is Australia's role in global food security and how are we managing our own domestic food challenges in relation to environmental sustainability, rising food prices and declining productivity.
  • Hungry planet: what the world eats by Peter Menzel and Faith D'Aluisio. Peter Menzel and Faith D'Aluisio present a photographic study of families from around the world, revealing what people eat during the course of one week. Each family's profile includes a detailed description of the weekly food purchases; photographs of the family at home, at market, and in the community.

Then for something completely different you may like to read:

eBooks

Issues in Society

Britannica Stax

Reference resources

General Encyclopedia

eReserve

AV Resources

DVDs

ClickView

Episodes

Searches

Audio files

Download the following audio from a variety ABC's Radio National programs:

Web Resources

Australia

International

Climate change and food supply

Famine

Case Studies

Salmon Farming
Overfishing
Crop Production
Meat Industry

Salmon Farming

Salmon farming is an important industry in Tasmania, providing employment and economic benefits to the region. However, the sustainability of the industry has come under scrutiny due to concerns over its environmental impact. Salmon farming can have negative effects on water quality, ecosystem health, and wild fish populations, particularly if not properly managed. In response, the industry has implemented measures to reduce its impact, such as using more sustainable feed and adopting new technologies to minimize waste and pollution. Tasmania has also established a comprehensive regulatory framework to ensure that salmon farming activities are conducted in an environmentally responsible manner. While challenges remain, such as the need to address disease and parasites, the industry is making progress in improving its sustainability and addressing the concerns of stakeholders, including environmental groups and fishing communities.

Library Resources

On the shelves

Collection highlights

AV Resources

ClickView

Web Resources

Sustainability

Impacts

Tasmania

Overfishing

Overfishing in Australia is a significant issue that poses a threat to the sustainability of the country's marine ecosystems and the livelihoods of those who depend on them. The overexploitation of fish populations can have far-reaching ecological, social, and economic consequences, such as the decline of marine biodiversity, reduced food security, and the loss of jobs and income for fishing communities. Australian authorities have implemented various measures to manage and protect fish stocks, including quotas, size limits, and marine protected areas. While these efforts have had some success, challenges remain in ensuring the sustainability of fishing activities, such as the need to balance economic interests with conservation objectives and to address illegal, unreported and unregulated fishing. Continued efforts and collaboration among stakeholders are necessary to promote the long-term sustainability of Australia's fisheries.

Library Resources

AV Resources

ClickView

Web Resources

Crop Production

The sustainability of Australian crop production is a multifaceted issue that depends on factors such as soil health, water use efficiency, pesticide use, and biodiversity. Australian farmers have made significant progress in improving the sustainability of crop production through the adoption of conservation agriculture practices, including minimum tillage and cover cropping. Additionally, the industry has implemented water management strategies to conserve water and reduce irrigation demand. However, the industry still faces challenges such as soil degradation, soil erosion, and the use of pesticides and fertilizers. In order to improve the sustainability of Australian crop production, ongoing efforts are needed to reduce the environmental impact of agriculture, promote soil health and biodiversity, and increase the efficiency of resource use.

Library Resources

On the shelves

Collection highlights

AV Resources

ClickView

Web Resources

General

First Nations agriculture

Meat Industry

The sustainability of the Australian meat industry is a complex issue that depends on various factors such as animal welfare, environmental impact, and economic viability. On one hand, the industry has made progress in reducing its environmental footprint, with initiatives such as carbon neutrality targets and water conservation measures. Additionally, Australia has strict animal welfare regulations, and the industry is constantly striving to improve animal welfare practices. However, the industry still faces challenges such as the need to reduce greenhouse gas emissions, manage land use, and adapt to changing consumer preferences for plant-based diets. Overall, the sustainability of the Australian meat industry is an ongoing effort that requires collaboration and innovation from industry stakeholders, policymakers, and consumers.

Library Resources

On the shelves

AV Resources

ClickView

Web Resources

Article Index