Food and Nutrition (TASC Level 3)

Page 1 of 1

Food and Nutrition (TASC Level 3) - An Introduction

Food and Nutrition provides a broad study of food issues which have ongoing relevance to individuals and community health and wellbeing

The knowledge, skills and attitudes gained during the course will have applications in, and benefits for, academic, vocational and general life experiences. Students will learn to analyse and draw evidence-based conclusions in response to nutrition and food information, food advertising and current dietary trends.

TASC. Food and Nutrition. Level 3, FDN315118, 2020.

Course information for TASC Food and Nutrition level 3 can be found here.

Investigation Project (IPs): When undertaking any investigation project, independent study, research or literature review you must allow yourself enough time to search for and locate the material you will need. To help you a booking sheet is kept at the Library desk where you may book an individual time with one of the Library staff when commencing any research for Food and Nutrition.

Library Resources
AV Resources
Web Resources

Library Resources

On our shelves

The Library catalogue is a powerful searching tool. Use a basic keyword search to get you quickly to the resources you will find on our shelves.

Start with some of these basic keyword terms:

eBooks

Issues in Society [Hard copies of Issues in Society can be found on the Library shelves]

Reference resources

On the shelves

General encyclopedia

  • The World Book

Subject reference titles

There is a range of single volume reference tools you can use in the area of Food and Nutrition. For example:

Magazines

The Library and Technology Faculty subscribe to a variety of magazines which you may find useful:

AV Resources

The Library has a wide range of AV material on DVD and as digital movies that can be located by searching on the Library catalogue. Please find below a list of suggested resources, ask in the AV office for extended help.

ClickView

DVD

Web Resources

Be careful what you download and use from the Internet.

Before using information from a web address ensure you are looking at a publication from a legitimate source. Material from the Internet often does not acknowledge the author or creator, does not cite references or footnotes, or include any type of bibliography or reference list. Use this type of material with caution. As part of your research process you need to sort out the reliable sources from the less trustworthy sites.

If in doubt always check with your teacher. For further information read the Library Fact Sheet Evaluating Information from the Web.

General

Diet

Food sociology

Health promotion

Not-for-profit

Health research organisations

Health promotion campaigns

Global food issues

Referencing advice: TASC and your teachers at St Patrick's College expect you to present your work with citations and a reference list in the Harvard style for Food and Nutrition. Go to the Library's Referencing Guidelines for extended help in this area. The Library staff are always happy to help you with any queries you may have in regard to referencing requirements for any research you are undertaking.

Faculty resources: All material purchased by the HASS Faculty are also available for student use if it is not required by teachers. Many of these resources are shelved separately in the Library and may be found by using the Library catalogue. You may need to ask Library staff to bring you some titles.

Page 4 of 5

Healthy Eating

There are many factors that can determine if you are fit and healthy. Money and power allows some people to attain material things that can benefit their lives, but no one can actually buy health. It has been said that health has many meanings ... but it is essential to our well-being. How people define their own health varies according to their own circumstances, their age, personal knowledge, social and illness experiences.

Keleher, H. and MacDougall, C. (2009). Understanding health: a determinants approach (2nd ed.). Oxford University Press.

According to the World Health Organisation (WHO)Australia is one of the healthiest countries in the world, but not everyone in this country shares this high health status. You can download a PDF document from WHO that chart's Australia's health profile.

Through the last couple of decades Australian's have shown an increasing interest in the food they eat and an increasing interest in their health. Australians love to eat but many of us want to stay healthy and live for a long time. The nutrients in the food we choose to eat has a significant impact on our health as the body requires nutrients in specific amounts. Too little can lead to ill-health, but too much of a particular nutrient, for example too much saturated fat may lead to coronary heart disease. All nutrients are required for optimal health.

Smith, K., Marshall, B. & Smith, L. (2009). Achieving health and human development, units 3 & 4 (2nd ed.). Macmillan.
Library Resources
eReserve
Web Resources

Library Resources

On the shelves

Dewey numbers

  • Cooking 641.5
  • Diet 613
  • Dietetics - Nutritional guides to good food - 613.2
  • Physical fitness - 613.7
  • Food - 641.3
  • Food & Nutrition 641.3
  • Food preservation and storage - 641.4
  • Food technology -664
  • Hospitality - 647

Keyword searching

  • Nutrition
  • Healthy eating

Subject headings

eBook

Reference resources

General Encyclopedia

  • World Book Encyclopedia

Subject Encyclopedia

  • Encyclopedia of Health. 3rd edition. (14 volumes)
  • The Marshall Cavendish Encyclopedia of Family Health (12 volumes)

eReserve

  • Good food, good health, from Fricker, Peter, Brockett, Camilla, (2008), Personal best: how to get fit in 45 minutes a day, Penguin with The Australian Institute of Sport, Camberwell, pp.145-158.
  • Nutrition and health, from Sharkey, Brian J. ( 1997), Fitness and health, 4th edition, Human Kinetics, Champaign, IL, pp.204-222.
  • People and food, from Cleary, Vaughan, Abbott, Justin, (1997), Health and physical education for years nine & ten, Hodder Education, Rydalmere, pp.137-174.

Web Resources

Australian Bureau of Statistics

Statistics collected and published by the Australian government including areas on Australia's population, health and wellbeing.

Australian Institute of Health and Welfare

AIHW is a major agency set up by the Australian Government. The agency provides reliable, regular and relevant information and statistics on Australia's health and welfare.

Better Health Channel (BHC)

BHC has been sponsored by the Victorian Government since 1999. It provides health and medical information and the "Healthy Living" menu contains information that would be very useful when researching healthy eating.

Department of Health and Aging

Another government site that promotes better health and aging for all Australians.

Nutrition Australia

Nutrition Australia is a non-government, community-based organization. This organization aims to promote the health and well-being of all Australians

World Health Organization (WHO)

WHO is part of the United Nations and is responsible for providing global leadership in the area of international health matters.

Article Index